Out of this World 1st Birthday

As most parents would say, the first year goes by way too fast. Some days were quite long, but overall the first year of Gavin’s life went by in a blink of an eye.

This mama wanted to celebrate it with an out of this world birthday party for her little man. Obviously this meant a outer space theme, but with limited time after the holidays to get it pulled together I had to move fast.

Invitations

I went to Pinterest for inspiration and saw there were many cute invites on Esty, however I decided to make my own with PicMonkey.com.

First I took a picture of Gavin with his spaceship pjs and space helmet in front of a outer space tablecloth.

unnamed.jpg

The invitations read:

3…2…1

Let’s celebrate Gavin turning 1!

Come join in the fun!

We’ll be blasting off Saturday, January 16, 2016 from noon-2p

at Gavin’s Space Station –

(Address)

RSVP to Ground Control

(email)

Location

The location was the only big decision we had to make since I knew we wanted to invite so many people. I was blessed that my work let me use the large atrium in the building. It worked great. Everyone had enough room to roam and we had multiple activities going at one time.

Food

The menu for the party was spaced themed just like everything else.

20160116_120322(1).jpg

It included:

  • Sloppy Saucers (Sloppy Joes)
  • RocketChips (Chips)
  • Milky Ways
  • Starbursts
  • Star Crunches
  • Rocket Fuel (punch)
  • Liquid Hydration (Water)
  • Martian Munch (Sweet Chex Mix)
  • Galaxy Gushers (Gusher candies)

 

I used a lot of items I already had on hand for serving ware including disposable cooking tins from Dollar Tree.

Decor

Decor was one of the most fun things because after a little thought there is so much you can do with it. I reused the outer space table clothes along with a few others I had on hand. The outer space table clothes now became backdrops for pictures and the cake smash.

12552847_10100573636914442_3062832778639273410_n.jpg

I also used a lot of the items out of the Target dollar spot including a Happy Birthday banner, a circle banner, and a white rotating container on the food table to house utensils.

Another part of the decor was the guest book table. This was decorated with the party invitation, his birth announcement, a large #1 made out of photos of Gavin, and a photo banner featuring Gavin every month in his first year. I also put out the Chatbooks that I have for people to look through at the party.

 

2016011695112252.jpg

The food table was decorated with a silver box I had on hand, a large black G that I picked up before Gavin was born, and an astronaut boot. I found the book on major clearance after Christmas. It is actually considered a stocking.

Music was another fun element to the party. We put together a fun party playlist that had a space feel.

The list included:

  • Final Countdown – Europe
  • Leaving, on a Jet Plane – John Denver
  • Star Trek: Voyager
  • I Believe I Can Fly – R. Kelly
  • Space Oddity – John Waite
  • The Imperial March and Main Theme from Star Wars- John Williams
  • Born in a UFO – David Bowie
  • Space Cowboy – NSync Featuring Lisa Lopez
  • Rocket Man – Elton John
  • I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing – Aerosmith
  • Walking on Sunshine – Katrina
  • Man on the Moon – R.E.M.
  • Fly Me to the Moon – Frank Sinatra

 

Activities

Since it was a first birthday there weren’t many activities that Gavin could participate in, however I didn’t want our guests to be bored. Again I went to Pinterest!

First, at the guest book table there were blank wooden blocks. On these blocks we asked each guest to write a hope, dream, or wish for Gavin. These were fun decor for his bedroom and one day he will be able to play with them. I think this was a fun, non traditional guest book that will be useful as well.

Second, there was another activity asking the guest to put they thought Gavin would be when he grew up. It will be fun years from now to see if any of them come true.

12742836_10100586292791962_5339979863550403058_n.jpg

Next, during the party there was table set up with homemade play dough. We called it Gavin’s Galactic Goo. The recipe overall was fairly easy and will be linked below. On this table we had individual play doughs along with different cookie cutters including stars and rockets.

12496457_10100573633117052_6545406089134211314_o.jpg

Last, what is a party without cake. Instead of buying a cake, I decide that decorating your own cupcakes could be a fun activity. I used boxed cake mix, but made my own vanilla frosting. I also had different candies which guests could decorate their cupcakes with.

I think the party was a huge success and it couldn’t have gone better. I couldn’t have done it without my sister. She helped decorate, make play dough, and was so important in making this day go off without a hitch.

I am already brainstorming what birthday theme #2 will be:)

Links:

Pic Monkey – picmonkey.com

Invitation Space PJs –  (these are different) http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=1036546&vid=1&pid=725454002

Outer Space “helmet” –

http://www.orientaltrading.com/astronaut-helmet-a2-15_558-11-0.fltr?xsaleSku=70/9693

Outer Space Table Cloths – http://www.orientaltrading.com/outer-space-tablecloth-a2-70_9693.fltr?Ntt=space

Sweet Chex Mix Recipe- http://littlebirdiesecrets.blogspot.com/2010/05/sweet-chex-mix.html

Chatbooks – www.chatbooks.com

Rocket Cookie Cutter – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006A48BSS?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00

Wooden Blocks – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WX9GQOU?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00

Space Banner – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002BOGUFC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00

Play Dough Recipe –http://www.pre-kpages.com/classroom-recipes-jello-play-dough/

Frosting Recipe – http://cake-decorating.wonderhowto.com/how-to/make-homemade-vanilla-frosting-from-scratch-0118347/

Leave a Reply

