Knitting 101: Where to Really Start

Knitting has been something I’ve been wanting to get into for a while, but what I’ve noticed with many DIY-type projects, I have a hard time completing them. I either get bored because of hwo long it takes for it to get done or it ends up costing too much to finish (like scrapbooking –  you’d be surprised how much that supplies costs). I knew if I was going to become a “Knitter” I’d need to figure out a strategy to get started.

Step 1: What to Buy

I knew that I didn’t want my new endeavor to cost too much. If it ended up not being for me, I really didn’t want that leftover supplies lying around like my past projects (*cough* scrapbooking). I decided an inexpensive kit was just what I needed – It came with all of the basic supplies plus a book of some projects.

After that arrived (2-day Amazon shipping is the best!) I made sure I went to Hobby Lobby the next day to buy some yarn. I wasn’t going to let this become another unfinished project – I made it my mission to get started. Unknown to me, specific projects need a certain kind of yarn, but since I wasn’t going to make my lazy self go back to Hobby Lobby a second time, I decided to wing-it when it came to buying it. Surprisingly, it all worked out – I got a few bundles in different thicknesses so I had options. If I could do it again I would have picked just one bundle at a medium thickness and was really soft (As I got started, the “harder” yarn started to hurt my hands a bit).

Step 2: Practice & Picking a Project

I have to admit, once I got all of the supplies, I didn’t even pick a project from the book that came in the kit (and I still haven’t). As I started flipping through it’s pages I started to get overwhelmed and had no idea what the instructions meant (Even now I am only starting to get acquainted to the knitting terms). But I wasn’t going to let that stop me! I went to one of the greatest sources for step-by-step DIYs – Youtube.

Luckily, it wasn’t hard to find videos on beginner knitting – in fact there might be too many. I ended up choosing “How to Knit – Absolute Beginner Knitting, Lesson 1 – Even if You’re Clueless!”  from ExpressionFiberArtsand clueless I was. And success! This video walked me through everything I needed to know for knitting so far. I practiced the beginner steps a few time before picking a project, but I didn’t waste time before getting started – Since I knew my habits of getting bored with time consuming DIYs. I picked something that looked easy and wouldn’t take forever – “How to Knit a Headband – Beginner Level” also from ExpressionFiberArts. This is a great project that doesn’t take much time, and there are not many steps to it which was great for me!

I learned a lot from my first project, and there were definitely times I wanted to throw my yarn across the room but luckily the helpful tips from the ExpressionFiberArts’ videos kept me going. I would definitely suggest their videos for any knitting projects, and for DIY-challenged people like me.

From One Cup To The Next Knitting
I’ve made a few headbands now, and I am ready to take on a new project. Stay tuned for more yarn-related DIYs and knitting projects. In the meantime, go discover knitting for yourself!

Leave a Reply

