Working Mom Hacks

If you are reading this blog post than you probably feel how many moms feel on a daily basis, or at least how I feel. I feel like from the moment I wake up to the moment my child goes to sleep, I am on “go-mode”. Trying to figure out what needs to be done next, who needs what, and when everything needs to be done by. I can honestly say when Gavin goes to bed at 7 pm, I am ready to go to bed too. In the end, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love being busy and being a full-time working mom adds even more. Here are some hacks that I have developed over the last year to keep me sane and my family and home running smoothly.

  1. Control the chaos by planning ahead

This is a very general statement, however it is crucial to stay ahead of the chaos. I only have one small child, so I am sure anyone with more than one can speak to planning ahead as a must. The weeks where I feel like I have my sh*t together are the weeks where I take a few minutes to plan.

  • I plan what we are going to eat and make sure I have all the items.
  • I prep any meals that can be prepared so that dinner time is a snap
  • I plan what I am going to wear every day
  • I plan what the little guy is going to wear
  • I plan and prepare lunches so it is more grab-n-go (than drive thru)

plan

2. Use your lunch break

I get an hour for lunch every day and try to make sure I take it no matter how busy I am at work. That hour can be the most important hour of my entire day. I run errands, make returns, grocery shop, and even get home to clean the house. You would be surprised what you can get done in that amount of time.

Every day I try to make a list of what I want to accomplish during that time, but I try to keep it small so I don’t overextend myself. Just today, I folded and put away laundry, packed our pool bag for swim lessons, and cleaned out one of Gavin’s dresser drawers. I might not have gotten the entire dressers cleaned out, but I have to use the time I have.

Also prioritize what things need to get to get. We have swim lessons five hours after I take lunch so the pool bag HAS to get packed, however the other things that need to get done at some time. Grocery shopping is usually a must that has to be done on a certain day because we are out of necessities, however usually small organizing projects can be put off if need be. It is all about using the time you have wisely.

3. Ask your spouse to help

This is one that is sometimes hard for me, but there are nights where I am just too tired to do my entire nightly routine. Lately I have been asking my husband for more help and it has been great. It may not get done exactly how I would do it and he may ask me numerous times where something goes, but at least it is some help and I don’t have to do it.

4. Develop routines

Some may disagree, but I think most people thrive on routines (especially kids). Developing and establishing routines can be one of the best things you can do for yourself and family. A morning and evening routine makes my life go amazing. I know what I need to get done during that time to make my life easier. You know what to expect from yourself and from your family.

5. 15 minutes does wonders

Just like #2, I find using small amounts time gets me to the final product faster. I don’t have large amounts of time to do projects, but if I cut them down into small chunks than I am able to actually achieve them faster. Just like the example #2, I was able to clean out one drawer in Gavin’s dresser. It took me less than ten minutes and I know that I will be to get to the other drawers later in the week. It will be cleaned before the end of the week. I truly believe you will be surprised at what you can do in 15 minutes.

On that same point, there are nights where I am just too tired to do everything in my nighttime routine. On nights like that, I set the microwave timer for 15 minutes and do just what I can in that amount of time. I always surprise myself at what I can actually get done in that amount of time.

What are some of your working mom hacks? You can never have enough working mom hacks in my opinion:)

Leave a Reply

