Flying with Kids: 5 Things You Need to Bring

Reading the title of this blog post you are probably already exhausted. Flying with kids is not easy. It is hard to predict how long they are going last before they have a melt down and to increase the situation, you are in a confined space with a hundred strangers judging your every parenting move.

Here are some things I brought a long to make our recent flight a little easier.Travel “Fun” Bags

My number one tip is to pack “fun” bags with small new toys and activities they have never seen. I packed one for the trip out and a different one for the trip back. 99% of the stuff came from the Dollar Tree or Target’s One Spot.

Fun bag #1 included:

  • Color book and crayons
  • Lion Guard cards
  • Planes
  • Mickey Mouse clubhouse with repositionable stickers
  • Mickey Mouse figurines
  • Binoculars

Fun bag #2 included:

  • Different coloring book
  • Activity pack with stickers
  • Thomas the Train mystery packs
  • Hot Wheels
  • Mickey Mouse matching cards

Water Bottle

I am so glad I remembered an empty water bottle. We were able to fill it up when we got through security with his favorite juice and all was well. I would recommend bringing one that has a tight seal and can keep drinks cold.

Lots of Snacks

This is a no brainer for most parents. Treats are a must. I am not sure about your kids, but mine don’t typically eat well when traveling. I love to bring some snacks that I know he will at least eat to keep him from getting overly hungry.

This trip I brought:

  • Ritz crackers
  • Goldfish crackers
  • Fruit snacks
  • Aldi cinnamon bear cookies
  • Puffs
  • Popcorn

Blanket

I debated bringing a blanket on the plane, but I am so glad I did. It was a universal tool. I was able to use it change him on, for a pillow for him to sleep, and of course the ever popular game of hide and seek.

Electronics

Last but not least, his Kindle Fire for Kids was great when he was done playing and just wanted to relax. I had loaded it with PBS shows and Thomas movies. The best part was that he didn’t even end up watching all that we had loaded. I am not one that likes to turn to this when we are at home, but it was a treat for the trip.
I would love to hear what you pack for your family when you fly. Leave a comment down below.

Leave a Reply

