Mother’s Day Reflections

I have thought a lot about what different traits I hope my son gets from my husband, his grandparents, and even his cousins, but I haven’t given much thought to what traits he gets from me. I want to take this time as Mother’s Day quickly approaches to share what traits I hope my son gets from me.

As Mother’s Day quickly approaches, I have begun to think of what kind of mom I want to be for my son. I am by no means the perfect mom, but every day I try to be a better mom than I was the day before. The truth is I don’t always succeed. There are days that I don’t leave work at work. There are days that we argue over what he is going to eat for supper. There are days that I don’t have the energy to play with him, however I try. I try to leave work at work. I try to cook a healthy meal he will eat. I try to get on the floor and play with him. If I could wish anything, I hope he remembers these three things about me.

  1. I put on the swimming suit. Random title, I know, but I want my son to remember that I was never too self-conscious to put on my swimsuit and get into the pool to play with him. I am not in the best shape of my life and that is something I need to work on, however that is not going to stop me from getting into the pool or lake and playing with him.
  2. I worked to make a better life for him. This is a conversation I have with my two-year-old. He doesn’t get it, but I try to remind him that mommy (and daddy) work hard so that we can provide a good life for him. Sometimes that means mommy must travel, but it is all so we can flourish as a family.
  3. Last, but not least, I try. I try in many aspects of my life. I have never been a person that has been truly gifted at really anything, but I have been good at a lot of things. Being good doesn’t necessarily add up to munch unless you try. I try to be a better mom for him every day, but there are some days that I am not sure what that means, but we, God willing, have tomorrow to continue to figure it out.

 

This is one of my favorite quotes and it couldn’t be more true than we it comes to having a child. Happy Mother’s Day from us here at From One Cup to the Next!

Leave a Reply

