Living with Less: 50 in 10 Declutter Challenge – The Results

We did it! Together we decluttered over 100 items in 10 days! The truth is it wasn’t as hard as we thought it would be and we both admitted that after the challenge we were going to keep going.

The Method

If you missed the last blog post, we challenged ourselves to get rid of five things per day in 10 different rooms. The method was to take the task of decluttering and break it down into manageable daily tasks. The quicker you found five things the faster you were done.

We posted all of our progress on our Instagram account (instagram.com/fromonecuptothenext/).

The Hardest Part

The hardest part and the hardest room were two different things. The hardest part for me (Jess) was actually loading up the stuff and taking it to donation, however I made three different trips. The reason was that the longer I let it sit in my home the more likely it would be to stay.

The hardest room for both of us seemed to be the bedrooms and the bathrooms. I don’t keep a lot of unused items in our bedroom. My closet is actually in our office so I couldn’t even use that, however I looked at the one place I do hoard things, my nightstand, and attacked that. Sadie also mentioned the bathroom, which I agree, was a difficult declutter space for a couple of reasons. One the space is utility based. I had a hard time getting rid of items that I had spent money on even though I may never use them.

The Result

The result for me is that I want to keep going. I know that there are other things I don’t use and others may enjoy. I am planning to do another 10 day challenge to see if I can use the momentum to start to live with less, but also make room for the items I love!

The bonus of this declutter is that I made over $20 selling items out of my local Facebook group and save over $60 on returns that were cluttering my spaces.

Are you interested in doing a 50 in 10 challenge with us? What would be your hardest room to declutter?

Leave a Reply

